Arkansas Match Play Championship

ELIGIBILITY: These championships are open to male amateur golfers who are bona fide residents of the state of Arkansas and a current individual member of ASGA. There are 5 divisions – amateur for 16 andolder, mid-amateur for 36 and older, senior for 51 and older, super-senior for 61 and older and masters for70 and older (new 2018). Amateurs and mid-amateur are required to have a USGA handicap index of 8.0 or less; seniors, super-seniors & masters 14.0 or less and all must meet the age requirement by July 30, 2020.


FORMAT: Contestants in all divisions (unless exempt from qualifying) will play 18 holes on Thursday, July 30at Chamberlyne Country Club to determine the bracket. The stipulated round is two 9-hole rounds and based on inclement weather, the brackets could be determined based on a 9-hole score.


BRACKET SIZE: Amateur division will be 32 players (48 or more entrants, bracket is 64). The Mid-AmateurAND Senior division will each be 16 players (24 or more entrants, the bracket is 32). The Super-Senior DivisionAND Masters Division will each be an 8-man bracket (12 or more entrants, bracket is 16). Minimum of eight players to comprise a division. Additional Exemptions in 2019 have been eliminated by the Players Advisory Committee and approved by the Board of Directors – only the defending champions in each division are exempt from qualifying. Defending champions must still register by the deadline or forfeit their spot in the championship.


Schedule: (Due to Cart regulations/limitations, the schedule below could be slightly modified).Thursday, July 30 – Qualifying round (defending champions exempt from qualifying & #1 seed in their respective division –Wes McNulty, Trey Schaap, Stan Lee, Dill Gunn & Sam McAllister.Friday, July 31 – First round in a.m. for all divisions & amateur division only plays second round in p.m.(Mid-Amateur, Senior, Super-Senior & Masters will play only 1 match on Friday unless bracket size dictates otherwise). Starting times on the scoreboard bracket, online & emailed to players. Saturday, August 1 – All divisions will play a match in a.m. & p.m., except if super-senior bracket and masters bracket is only an 8 person bracket they will play one match Saturday.Sunday, August 2 – All divisions will play their final match in the morning, except amateurs will play semis in the a.m. and finals in the p.m. (if the bracket is not 64, amateur finals will be in the a.m.)


PRACTICE ROUND: Chamberlyne C.C. open for a practice round on Wednesday, July 29, or another time with the approval of the golf shop. Players must make a tee time reservation 479-495-4110 & pay $25 cart fee. Jason Branch, who won this championship in 1990, is the PGA Golf Professional.


ENTRY FEE/DEADLINE: The entry fee of $150 includes carts and range balls for the qualifying round and all match play rounds. The entry fee must accompany the application. The deadline for all entries to reach the ASGA office is Thursday, July 23, or until field is full. You may also enter online at with a major credit card or you may print the entry from and mail it to ASGA, P.O. Box 30250, LittleRock, AR 72260. Inquiries please call 501-455-ASGA (2742) or email Jay Fox, Exec. Dir. This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


TROPHIES/GIFT CERTIFICATES: The amateur champion name will be engraved on the prestigious Roy WoodTrophy. The winner and runner-up in all divisions will receive individual trophies. Pro Shop Certificates will be awarded based on field size in all divisions. Prize breakdown posted in the scoring area.


Player Points Position
Bill Wrentz 300.00 1
Bob Brooks 300.00 1
Gordy McKeown 300.00 1
Stan Payne 300.00 1
Wes McNulty 300.00 1
Sam McAllister 175.00 2
Stan Stockton 175.00 2
Bobby Baker 175.00 2
Trey Schaap 175.00 2
Cameron McRae 175.00 2
David Lawrence 125.00 3
John Mayes 125.00 3
Greg Dunseath 125.00 3
Fred Stamey 125.00 3
Gene Davis 125.00 5
Greg Connell 125.00 3
Adam Wells 125.00 3
Jamie Barker 125.00 3
Clayton Harbour 125.00 3
Andrew Hopkins 125.00 3
George Jones 80.00 5
Jim Murphy 80.00 5
Douglas Schumacher 80.00 5
Gary Whitt 80.00 5
Kevin Fitzpatrick 80.00 5
Cal Campbell 80.00 5
Bruce Hawkins 80.00 5
Bev Hargraves 80.00 5
Hunter Walker 80.00 5
Chris Jenkins 80.00 5
Josh McNulty 80.00 5
Trevor Brunson 80.00 5
Miles Smith 50.00 9
Tyler Pinney 50.00 9
Parker Wilson 50.00 9
Logan Stephens 50.00 9
Grant Hynes 50.00 9
Cole Cody 50.00 9
Mitchell Ford 50.00 9
Drew Laning 50.00 9