2020 ASGA Players of the Year

The Arkansas State Golf Association is proud to announce the 2020 Player of the Year award recipients for multiple divisions. The Players of the Year earn that title annually through a full schedule of Championships conducted by the Arkansas State Golf Association and its member clubs. Each of the award recipients are celebrated annually at the Arkansas Golf Hall of Fame and Awards banquet.

Due to the Covid-19 Pandemic, the safety of the honorees and their families, invited guests and the staff and Board of Directors of the Arkansas State Golf Association, the ASGA is postponing the 2020 Hall of Fame & Awards Banquet. The 2020 ASGA Players of the Year, will be honored in the early spring of 2021, date and site to be determined. The date, originally scheduled for October 22, 2020, will be postponed to a date in the fall of 2021 that can mutually be agreed upon by the ASGA, Chenal Country Club and the honorees: Kim Backus, Tracy Harris, Stacy Lewis and the late Ernie Breckenridge.


Mackenzie Lee of North Little Rock earned her second Junior Girls Player of the Year (2018) after competing in a total of five ASGA championships and was victorious in each. Mackenzie won both of our “Majors” for Junior Golfers, the Arkansas Junior Amateur Championship, and successfully defended her title at the ASGA Junior Match-Play Championship. 


The “Beau Glover Award” for Junior Boys Player of the Year, Caleb Miller, also had a number of victories in ASGA events this year. The Cabot native competed in a total of 10 ASGA events this year finishing no lower than 8th place. Caleb tallied four wins over the course of the year at the Shadow Valley Junior Championship, the Randy Beaver Memorial Junior Stroke, the Ben I. Mayo Junior Championship, and the Bubba Smart Junior Stroke. Caleb adds a fourth consecutive year to this award for Cabot, as his High School teammates, Connor Gaunt and Blaine Calhoon won this award in 2017, 2018, & 2019. Caleb has now begun his Freshman year as a member of the Southern Arkansas University Golf Team. 


Josh McNulty of White Hall follows a long family legacy in Arkansas golf as he claims the 2020 Amateur Player of the Year Award. Josh won the final men’s event of the year at The Course of Eagle Mountain Men’s Stroke Play. Josh also had top five finishes at the Arkansas Amateur Championship and the Arkansas Match-Play Championship. Josh has begun his Sophomore year as a member of the Henderson State University Golf Team, and is the son of ASGA Hall of Famer, Wes McNulty. 


The Women’s Amateur Player of the Year, Josie Roberson of Maumelle finished with a top 10 finish at the Arkansas Women’s Stroke Play in June at Chenal Country Club. She bested that finish, while successfully defending her title, at the Arkansas Women’s Match Play Championship at Ponce De Leon Golf Course. Josie is currently a Sophomore on the Arkansas Tech Women’s Golf Team and a former Arkansas Junior Girls Player of the Year.


Trey Schaap of Maumelle claimed another Mid-Amateur Player of the Year, as he also won this same award in 2018. Trey had a very consistent year in our Mid-Amateur Division, finishing no lower than sixth in any ASGA event. He highlighted his year with wins in the Hot Springs Country Club Classic and the Sherwood Amateur. Trey continued his solid play, with runner up finishes at the Arkansas Men's Match-Play Championship and the Big Creek Men’s Stroke Play. 


This year’s Senior Women’s Player of the Year, Brenda Alexander from Bentonville, is not only a great competitor but is heavily involved in Women’s Golf, as she serves as Co-Chair of the ASGA Women’s Committee. Brenda finished no worse than fourth in ASGA championships this year and was the Senior Division champion at the Arkansas Women’s Match Play. Brenda was also victorious in the Hot Springs Country Club Classic in Mid-June 


After winning both the Senior Division of the Arkansas Amateur Championship and the Arkansas Match Play Championship, Gordy McKeown of Little Rock ran away with the 2020 Senior Player of the Year award. Gordy went four for four with victories, adding a win at the Maumelle Classic and the Hot Springs Country Club Classic.


For the first time, the ASGA is awarding a Women’s Super Senior Player of the Year, Pam “Rookie” Evans of Maumelle earned that title in 2020 while constantly finishing in the top three in each championship that she competed in. This included first place finishes at both the Hot Springs Country Club Classic and the Arkansas Women’s Stroke Play. 


The Men’s Super Senior Player of the Year was Bella Vista’s Bob Brooks. Bob tallied more points than any other golfer in any division this year. Bob won the Super Senior Division at all six ASGA events he played in this year. That included wins at the Arkansas Amateur Championship, Arkansas Match-Play Championship, and Maumelle Classic. 


The Women’s Masters Player of the Year is Pat Elliott from Hot Springs. Pat won the Masters Division in the Arkansas Women’s Stroke Play at Chenal Country Club. She also finished first in her home town at the Hot Springs Country Club Classic. Pat has previously claimed the honor of the 2017 and 2018 Senior Women’s Player of the Year.

Bill Wrentz of Cabot has now claimed three straight Player of the Year awards. Bill finished the year with three second place finishes and two wins in this year’s Masters Division. Bill was the Masters Division Champion at this year's Arkansas Match Play Championship and was the runner up at the Arkansas Amateur Championship. 


The Arkansas State Golf Association (ASGA) is a non-profit 501(c)3 association with over 10,000 individual members and 126 member clubs. Through the ASGA programs, the association has had the ability to touch the lives of many golfers of all ages and skill levels in the state of Arkansas. The ASGA scholarship program alone has provided over $500,000 in scholarship dollars to young men and women since its inception. For more information on how to get involved with the Arkansas State Golf Association please visit ASGA.org or contact us today.

Arkansas State Golf Association
Mail: P.O. Box 30250
Little Rock, AR 72260
Little Rock, AR  72210
Office: 501-455-ASGA (2742)